The Anderson Gallery
Tucked between the Office of the Provost (Ginter House) and the Scott House, there is a small three-story building set back from the road. Easy to miss from the sidewalk with trees and a few sculptures before the entrance, this unassuming structure appears more like an addition to one of its neighbors rather than a landmark in its own right. But since 1929, the A.A. Anderson Building has stood as a fixture of the VCU landscape.
It has worn many hats, from stable to library to gallery. While each evolution was made to accommodate the needs of the university, the impact of the Anderson went beyond campus boundaries. For 45 years, the Anderson Gallery proved itself to be a space for artistic experimentation: bringing artists and ideas from around the world to challenge and enrich the Richmond art scene.
Such an expansive history cannot be fully explored in the space of a single exhibition. This instead serves as an introduction to the Anderson Gallery, the art it hosted over the decades, and the resources available to explore this Richmond icon further.
Special Collections and Archives at James Branch Cabell Library is home to rare books, manuscripts, book art, and comic arts. Materials from the collections do not circulate but are available for use in our Reading Room on the fourth floor of Cabell Library. For more information please contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org or (804)828-1108.